Advisory Councils

Cal State Innovate values the input and collaboration from both campus and external area experts as it continues to serve the CSU. Whether is exploring innovative practices in teaching and learning, researching technological advances, or promoting digital literacy, Cal State Innovate organized advisory councils to help support student learning and success.

2021 – 2022 Adobe Advisory Council

The Adobe Advisory Council meets three times a year to inform the direction of the CSU partnership with Adobe and get input from diverse stakeholders from throughout the system that represent varying roles and perspectives. The purpose of the council is to leverage the scale of the CSU to promote digital fluencies, share information, and improve equitable access. 

Currently, the council is focusing on identifying actions that campuses can take to support the use of Creative Cloud on their campuses.  

Learn more about how the CSU community is maximizing the Adobe Creative Cloud!

2021-2022 Cal State Innovate Advisory Council

Innovation cannot and should not happen in a vacuum, so to properly execute the mission, Cal State Innovate has chartered an advisory council to assist in setting the direction and areas of focus for the office. 

The Innovation Advisory Council provides strategic guidance on initiatives and priorities for ITS Innovation. It is comprised of leaders from different institutions within and outside of IT to recommend focus areas and to surface challenges at the campus level.  

The CSIAC exists to:

  • Provide strategic advising to the director of the Cal State Innovate program as well as the system CIO. 
  • Recommend focus areas for the Cal State Innovate program. 
  • Engage in forecasting exercises to project out 18 – 24 months what innovations might be worth pursuing. 
  • Share campus problems that might be solved through innovative technology or processes. 
  • Assist in the framing and advertising of the annual innovation mini-grant call for proposals. 

2021 – 2022 Council Members

Cynthia Alvarez,  Assistant Director, Student Success – Student Success Strategic Initiatives – CSU Chancellor’s Office 

Heather Barker, Associate Professor of Design and Coordinator, Immersive Design Research Lab – Cal State Long Beach  

Shawna Dark, Chief Academic Technology Officer and Executive Director of Research, Teaching, and Learning –  UC Berkeley  

Rafael Espinosa, Chief Information Officer and Associate Vice President – Stanislaus State 

April Grommo, Systemwide Director of Enrollment Management Services – CSU Chancellor’s Office  

Jill Leafstedt, Interim Dean of Extended University and Associate Vice Provost for Digital Learning – CSU Channel Islands  

Orlando Leon, Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer, Fresno State 

Rolin Moe, Dean of Academic Support & Learning Technologies, Skyline College 

Mary Morshed, Senior Director of Information Security & Information Security Officer – San Francisco State    

Jeremy Olguin, Student Affairs Technology Services Director – Chico State 

Bethany Rizzardi, Chief Information Officer – Cal Poly Humboldt  

Kyle Shaver, Director, Enterprise Application Development – CSUN 

Mike Stull, Professor of Management and Director of the Inland Empire Center for Entrepreneurship – Cal State, San Bernardino 

Samuel Sudhakar, Vice President for Information Technology Services and Chief Information Officer – Cal State, San Bernardino